Tortilla Soup!

I just tried this yesterday and it was just amazing – not to mention low cal and low cost. I hope you enjoy it!

What you need:

  • 4 chicken fillets
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 2 tbsp taco seasoning
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can whole kernel corn
  • 1 can diced green chiles (optional)

Cook chicken in olive oil for a healthier twist. I usually season my chicken with garlic salt and pepper. It’s up to you what you’d like to do. It is very delicious!

While the chicken is cooking, add all canned ingredients into a pot. I started with the tomatoes first, working the beans, corn , and other ingredients to follow. Next add the spices. Put heat on simmer.

While the ingredients in your pot are heating up, take chicken out of the pan and shred it. I use two forks to pull the chicken apart. It’s very simple. Put two forks into the chicken facing opposite ways and pull. It will shred your fillets in no time!

As soon as your done shredding, add the chicken into the the pot and stir. As soon as the soup is warm to eat, dish it up!

Everyone likes to garnish in different ways. Here is how I did it :

After the soup is in a bowl, I add shredded cheese on top of the soup. Following this I add some crushed tortilla chips. I crush them by hand. If you’re feeling lucky, add a little sour cream on top. It’s delicious!! I hope you enjoy this great winter meal!

Image

Leave a Reply

